Alberta. Executive Council

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Alberta. Executive Council

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


<em>Dates of Founding and/or Dissolution:</em> That the Province of Alberta would have an Executive Council was established by <em>The Alberta Act</em>t in 1905. <em>Functional Responsibility:</em> Alberta's government system is based on the Westminster model, which originates in Britain. In this system, the Government is divided into three branches: legislative, executive and judicial. The legislative branch is represented by the Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly includes all those elected representatives from the provincial constituencies. The Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) approve legislation by voting on bills, which may or may not then become acts. The judicial branch encompasses the courts system. The courts function independently from government, but are responsible for enforcing the laws approved by the Legislative Assembly. Much of the real power of the government lies with the executive branch, officially known as the Executive Council, and synonymously known as the Cabinet at the provincial level. It is with the Executive Council that many of the decisions regarding the governing of the province lie. The Executive Council of Alberta was established under <em>An Act to establish and provide for the Government of the Province of Alberta,</em> Canadian legislation more commonly known as <em>The Alberta Act</em>, which received assent July 20, 1905 and came into force September 1, 1905. The Executive Council is comprised of the Premier, who is the President (or Chairman) of the Executive Council, and the Ministers, those members appointed and assigned portfolios by the Premier and who are responsible for managing the various departments and agencies. These Ministers aid and advise the Premier. Many agencies, boards, bureaus, commissions, corporations and offices have reported to the Executive Council. However, a number of legislated entities have reported in a more direct manner, either to the President of the Executive Council (the Premier) or to the Executive Council. At one time or another over the years, these have included: the Alberta Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Commission, the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research, the Alberta Order of Excellence Council, the Bureau of Labour, the Freight Bureau, the Human Resources Development Authority, the Human Resources Research Council, the Liquor Control Board (only briefly in 1988-1989), the Northern Alberta Development Council, the Premier's Council on the Status of Persons with Disabilities, the Research Council of Alberta (a reconstitution of the Scientific and Industrial Research Council of Alberta), and the Women's Bureau (from 1966 until 1970 known as the Women's Cultural and Information Bureau). Many of these entities were subsequently, through transfer, administered by other Ministers and departments. The Alberta Order of Excellence Council continues to report to the President of the Executive Council. Other reporting entities, such as the Premier's Commission on Future Health Care for Albertans (O.C. 848/87), the Alberta Advisory Council (O.C. 1971/67), and the Emergency Measure Organization (A.R. 223/60, O.C. 1016/60), were established through Order-in-Council. The Office of the Chief Information Officer was introduced in October 1995, and reported to the Executive Council. In June 1997, responsibility for the Office of the Chief Information Officer was transferred to the Minister of Public Works, Supply and Services; in 1999 it was transferred to the Minister of Innovation and Science. Beginning in 1992, the Personnel Administration Office reported to the President of the Executive Council, before being transferred to the Minister of Advanced Education and Career Development in 1997. Other entities that have reported more indirectly to the Executive Council, through various Ministers, have included: the Alberta Advisory Council on Women's Issues, the Alberta Educational Communications Corporation, the Disaster Services Agency, the Energy Resources Conservation Board (previously known as the Oil and Gas Conservation Board), the Environment Conservation Authority, the Family Life and Substance Abuse Foundation, the Métis Settlement Appeal Tribunal, the Métis Settlement Transition Commission, the Northern Alberta Development Council, the Personnel Administration Office, the Premier's Council on the Status of Persons with Disabilities, the Professions and Occupations Bureau, the Public Service Employee Relations Board, the Racing Commission, the Senior Citizens Advisory Council, the Water Resources Commission, the Wild Rose Foundation, and the Women's Secretariat. The Protocol Office was transferred to Executive Council from Federal and Intergovernmental Affairs April 1, 1978. Responsibility for the Protocol Office was then transferred from Executive Council to International Division of Federal and Intergovernmental Affairs on June 7, 1993. The Office was transferred again from International and Intergovernmental Relations to the Executive Council as part of the government-wide restructuring announced in May 1999. The Protocol Office currently reports to the Deputy Minister of the Executive Council Office and is headed by the Chief of Protocol. The Executive Council Office provides administrative support to the Executive Council. The Office of the Premier provides administrative support to the Premier, the President of the Executive Council. The Public Affairs Bureau supports the government in its ongoing dialogue with Albertans by providing quality, coordinated and cost-effective communications and consulting services. <em>Predecessor and Successor Bodies: </em> An Executive Committee for the Territories was established by <em>An Ordinance Respecting the Executive Government of the Territories</em>, which received assent December 24, 1891. The Committee was to aid and advise the Government of the Territories, and began to resemble a ministerial cabinet. In 1897 the Executive Committee was replaced by an Executive Council. <em>Administrative Relationships: </em> The Executive Council represents the executive branch of the Government of Alberta. Along with the legislative and judicial branches, these three comprise the Government of Alberta. <em> Administrative Structure:</em> The Executive Council is comprised of those members of the Legislative Assembly who have been appointed Ministers of the Government of Alberta. The Executive Council is lead by its President, the Premier. Administrative support for the Council is provided by the Executive Council Office, and administrative support for the Premier by the Office of the Premier. <em>Names of Chief Officers: </em> Presidents of the Executive Council:;Alexander C. Rutherford, 1905-1910;Arthur L. Sifton, 1910-1917;Charles Stewart, 1917-1921;Herbert Greenfield, 1921-1925;John E. Brownlee, 1925-1934;Richard G. Reid, 1934-1935;William Aberhart, 1935-1943;Ernest C. Manning, 1943-1968;Harry E. Strom, 1968-1971;Peter Lougheed, 1971-1985;Don Getty, 1985-1992;Ralph Klein, 1992-present


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Provincial Archives of Alberta

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places