Fonds uofc-85 - Board of Governors sous-fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Board of Governors sous-fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on contents of records.

Level of description


Reference code

CA UOFC uofc-85

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1958-2005 (Creation)
    University of Calgary. Board of Governors

Physical description area

Physical description

29.06 m of textual records. -- .13 m of microform

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Biographical history

The University's structure (established initially by The Universities Act of 1966 and updated by the Post-Secondary Learning Act of 2004) is bi-cameral. The two governing bodies are the Board of Governors and the General Faculties Council. The Board of Governors is the corporate body of the University responsible for the property of the University and its financial affairs. It appoints officers and employees of the University, establishes salary scales, appoints the President, and gives final approval to the operating and capital budgets of the University. It consists of the chairperson, Chancellor, President of the University and other persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. When first established in 1966 there were eleven other persons appointed, two of which were alumni association members, one senate member and two academic staff members. By 1982 other additions were two students, one graduate student and eight other persons. Frederick Clarence Manning was the first chair of the Board of Governors (1966-1967). Subsequent incumbents have been Leroy Allan Thorssen (1967-1970); Maclean Everett Jones (1970-1972); Carl Olof Nickle (1972-1974); Dr. Gordon Cummings Swann (1974-1975); Ross Anderson MacKimmie (1975-1984); Robert A. Wilson (1984-1990); Richard Haskayne (1990-1996); Ted Newall (1996-2001); Brian F. MacNeill (2001-2007) and Jack Perraton (2007-). In 1994, the offices of the Board of Governors and the General Faculties Council were combined into one administrative unit known as the University Secretariat.

Custodial history

Deposited by Board of Governors.

Scope and content

The sous-fonds consists of the Board of Governors standing and ad hoc committees. The records include minutes, agendas and accompanying documents. The sous-fonds is arranged into twenty-five Series: (1) Audit (1979-2003); (2) Banff School of Fine Arts Advisory (1968-1970); (3) Board of Governors Executive (1966-2004); (4) Board of Governors (1966-2004); (5) Board of Governors, University of Alberta at Calgary (1958-1966); (6) Board of Governors, University of Alberta at Calgary Executive (1958-1966); (7) Business and Building (1982-1986); (8) Business and Finance (1968-1982); (9) Capital Development (1968-1974); (10) Compensation (1982-1983); (11) Executive Committee, Three Alberta Universities Fund (1968-1978); (12) Finance (1982-1986); (13) Fund Development (1970-1980); (14) Fund Raising (1968-1970); (15) Health Sciences Development (1968-1970); (16) Investment (1979-2004); (17) Joint Board-Chamber of Commerce Committee on Business Education (1981-1985); (18) Olympic Building (1984-1986); (19) Olympic Planning (1981-1983); (20) On-Campus Housing (1979-1981); (21) Operations and Finance (1986-1992); (22) Personnel Policy (1983-2005); (23) Personnel Relations (1969-1982); (24) Planning and Budget (1986-1992); and (25) Planning and Finance (1992-2004).

Notes area

Physical condition

Includes 32 microfilm reels of textual records ; 16 mm..

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Administrative records of The University of Calgary are restricted for a period of twenty-five years. Access requires permission from the originating office. All records must be screen for personal use.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

File list available.

Associated materials

See also UARC 00.004 and 92.078 for University of Alberta Board of Governors records.

Related materials


Accruals are expected.

General note

Record No. UARC 85.035, 85.049, 86.026, 87.012, 2008.028, 2008.029, 2008.030, 2008.031, 2008.032, 2008.033, 2008.034, 2008.035, 2008.036, 2008.037, 2008.038, 2008.039, 2008.040, 2008.041, 2008.042, 2008.043, 2008.044, 2008.045, 2008.046, 2008.047, 2008.052, 2008.053, 2008.086, 2008.087<br><br>

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres