Fonds glen-2570 - Canada. Department of Indian Affairs. Treaty 7 fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Canada. Department of Indian Affairs. Treaty 7 fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on contents of records.

Level of description



Reference code

GLEN glen-2570

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • Reproduced [ca. 1970s or early 1980s] (originally created 1977) (Creation)
    Treaty 7

Physical description area

Physical description

1 item

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Biographical history

Treaty 7, also known as the Blackfoot Treaty, was signed in 1877 by Blackfoot (Siksika), Blood, Peigan, Sarcee (Tsuu T'ina), and Stoney. The Treaty area covers 130,000 square kilometres of southern Alberta and a corner of Saskatchewan.

Name of creator

Biographical history

The responsibility for Indian affairs in Canada has rested with the British Government, various colonial administrations and, since Confederation, with several branches and departments of the federal government. The Department of Indian Affairs and its predecessors have been responsible for such matters as treaties, reserves, provision of education, and supervision of agriculture on reserves. For a detailed administrative history see Records Relating to Indian Affairs (RG 10) / by Peter Gillis et al. - Ottawa : Public Archives of Canada, 1975. Treaty 4, the Qu'Appelle Treaty, was signed in 1874 by Cree and Saulteaux in 195,000 square kilometres in part of western Manitoba and most of southern Saskatchewan. Treaty 6, the Fort Carlton and Fort Pitt Treaty, was signed in 1876 by Plains and Woodland Cree in 312,000 square kilometres of central Saskatchewan and Alberta. Treaty 7, the Blackfoot Treaty, was signed in 1877 by Blackfoot (Siksika), Blood, Peigan, Sarcee (Tsuu T'ina) and Stoney in 130,000 square kilometres of southern Alberta and a corner of southwestern Saskatchewan. Under the provisions of these treaties, an annual payment was to be made at the rate of $25 to each chief, $15 to up to four councillors per band, and $5 to every other Indian man, woman, and child.

Custodial history

Scope and content

The fonds consists of a facsimile reprint of Treaty 7.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

Anonymous gift, 1981.


Language of material

  • The material is in English.

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No restrictions on access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

No finding aid.

Associated materials

A presentation copy of Treaty 7, originally owned by Old Sun, is in the Houghton Running Rabbit records, at Glenbow.

Related materials


General note

Record No. M 5918<br><br>

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres