County of Grande Prairie No. 1

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

County of Grande Prairie No. 1

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



In the late 1940s, the council of the Municipal District of Grande Prairie No. 127 "approached the Department of Municipal Affairs suggesting that a form of the County system be tried." (County of Grande Prairie No. 1 50th Anniversary Special Edition, Daily Herald Tribune) The County Act became law on July 1, 1950 and the County of Grande Prairie No. 1 was incorporated on January 1, 1951, the first and largest county in the province of Alberta. On February 22, 1951, eleven councilors were elected to the County of Grande Prairie: Lewis Hawkes, M.D. Kehr, G.R. Johnson, Bob Rycroft, Tom Warden, Alex Novlesky, Bernard Liland, Percy Johnson, Ed Williamson, A.E. Hawksworth, and James Smith. The first council meeting was held on March 8, 1951 and M.D. Kehr was elected chair.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

South Peace Regional Archives

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places