Mountain Culture

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Mountain Culture

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Banff Festival of Mountain Films began in 1976 under the sponsorship of the Centre's School of the Environment and The Alpine Club of Canada. The festival continued as an annual event within the School of Management, presenting a juried selection of international films and awards, as well as seminars and guest speakers. A North American touring program was established in 1986 to show the award-winning films. The Centre for Mountain Culture was established in 1996 to continue the annual Banff Mountain Film Festival and Banff Mountain Book Festival as well as to sponsor research, events, and educational programs on international alpine activities including an annual photography competition. In 1997, the name was shortened to Mountain Culture. Festival directors include John Amatt (1976 – 1987), Bernadette McDonald (1988-2006), Shannon O’Donoghue (2006 – 2008), David Cox (2009), Joni Cooper (2010-2013), Deb Smythe (2014-2018), and Joanna Croston (2019 -).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places