Collection paa-8478 - Musical Recordings by Alberta Artists Collection

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Musical Recordings by Alberta Artists Collection

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on contents of the collection.

Level of description


Reference code

PAA paa-8478

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1981-1985 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

5 audio discs

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

(1982 - 1990)

Biographical history

NEO a4 formed in 1982 in Edmonton, Alberta. Original members of the band included Ric Johnson on vocals and guitars, Joel Anderson on drums, John Tidswell on bass, guitar, and keyboards. Doug Radford joined the band in 1989 to play keyboards and vocals. Throughout its career the band won CFYN FM CASBY for "Best New Group/Independent Label", an award from the Edmonton Sun newspaper, and "Best New Group" from the Alberta Recording Industry Association in 1986. NEO a4 released several albums: What's Up (1984), The Warmer Side of You (1985), Desire (1987), Neo a4 (1988) and The Hardway (1089). In 1989, Duke Street recordings signed NEO a4, and the band relocated to Toronto to work on its first major release. NEO a4 broke up in 1990.

Name of creator


Biographical history

Darkroom formed in the 1980's in Edmonton, Alberta. The band was one of the first Edmonton band's to be signed to a major label. Throughout its career, the band played the Edmonton Coliseum five times, played with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, and toured North America. Former members of Darkroom include Doug Radford.

Custodial history

The source of the donation is unknown.

Scope and content

The collection consists of 5 LP discs featuring music from Richard White, Darkroom, and NEO a4 dating from 1981- 1985.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • The material is in English.

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

There are no restrictions on access. Permission for use required. Subject to the Copyright Act.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Associated materials

Related materials


Further accruals are not expected.

General note

Information for the administrative history/biographical sketch sourced from Canoe Website Band Search available at: (Accessed May 9, 2007).
Record No. The fonds includes the following accession: PR1990.0219

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres