Fonds 0020 - Peace Country Spinners and Weavers fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Peace Country Spinners and Weavers fonds

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on the contents of the records.

Level of description


Reference code

CA GPR 0020

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

12 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The Peace Country Spinners and Weavers Society was formed in 1984, "to promote communication, education and stimulation in the fiber arts, specifically spinning, weaving and associated handcrafts, in the Peace Region of Canada; and to promote the development of higher standards", in these arts. The society is an inspirational and educational encouragement to spinners, weavers and dyers in their craft. Member clubs include; Beaverlodge, Berwyn, Chetwynd, Dawson Creek, Dixonville, Fairview, Fort Nelson, Fort St. John, Girouxville, Grande Prairie, Hines Creek, Hudson's Hope, Lake Saskatoon, Peace River, St. Isadore, Tumbler Ridge and Valleyview, some of which no longer exist.The society sends out quarterly newsletters with reports from individual clubs throughout the Peace Country, techniques and samples of the craft, news from Art Shows and conferences, artists' profiles, membership lists and guild standards. The society also has two conferences per year, meeting at the various clubs for 1 day in the spring and 2 days in the fall. Founders of the society included Louise Wozniak and Jean James (Grande Prairie), Susan Miller (Beaverlodge), Jane Klem (Dawson Creek), Marlene Noseda (Valleyview), Ruth Buchannen (McLennan), and Gerda Anthony (Fairview).

Custodial history

Records were donated by Joan Yates, society member and newsletter author.

Scope and content

The fonds consists of: constitution and by-laws (1985); originals of the society's newsletters; and records of the spring and fall conferences.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

Records were donated by Joan Yates, society member and newsletter author.


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No access restrictions

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Associated materials

Related materials


Alpha-numeric designations

Accession number: 2000.22

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier


Institution identifier

South Peace Regional Archives

Rules or conventions

Level of detail


Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres